

## Minutes of the UWRF Faculty Senate for April 18, 2007,

Representation	Term Expires 2007	Term Expires 2008	Term Expires 2009
CAFES	Bob Baker	Laine Vignona	
		Patricia Berg (David	
		Furniss) (Jim	
	Wes Chapin	Mulvey)	
		John Heppen	
	Larry Harred	(Charles Rader)	Peter Johansson
CAS	Barbara Werner		
COEPS		Ogden Rogers	Michael Miller**
CBE			Glenn Potts
4th Division	Cara Rubis	Gregg Heinselman	Sarah Egerstrom
		Brenda Boetel (Jr)	Melissa Wilson (Jr)
	Karl Peterson (Jr)	Dawn Hukai (Sr)	David Rainville (Sr)
	Nan Jordahl (Sr)		Terry Ferriss (Sr)
At Large			
	Charlie Hurt* (Alan		
	Tuchtenhagen)		

- \* Chancellor's Designee
- \*\* Absent
  () Substitute

**Call to Order:** Wes Chapin called the meeting to order at 3:40pm.

**Seating of Substitutes:** Jim Mulvey for David Furniss, Alan Tuchtenhagen for Charlie Hurt, Charles Rader for John Heppen

**Guests:** Tracey Gladstone-Sovell, Ian Williams, Kristin Hendrickson, Brad Mogen, Jim Madsen, Rich Wallace.

**Approval of Minutes:** The minutes of April 11, 2007 were approved as corrected

# Chair's Report:

- Wes Chapin reported that Proposal 7 would be moved to the May 2 agenda.
- Wes Chapin reported that that two new Faculty Senate appointees to the UPG would be needed since the there are now 9 non-senate appointees.

- On the next Faculty Senate meeting agenda will be a motion regarding release time or compensation for Faculty Senate committee chairs.
- The next Faculty Senate meeting will be the last meeting for the 2006-2007 Faculty Senate and the first meeting for the 2007-2008 Faculty Senate.

### Vice Chair's Report:

Ogden Rogers reported that we are in the election phase for at-large elections, termination committee, and the constitutional amendment.

**Unfinished Business:** none

#### **New Business:**

**Proposal 1:** A motion from the Executive Committee to appoint Terry Ferriss, David Rainville, Melissa Wilson, and Barbara Werner to one-year terms ending May 2008 on the Student Senate's Differential Tuition Advisory Committee was made by Bob Baker and seconded by Gregg Heinselman. The motion passed unanimously.

**Proposal 3:** A motion from the FWPP contingent upon the Provost's willingness to decouple and implement the compensation component of his original draft, Senate charge the 2007/2008 FWPP Committee to evaluate the proposed Chair's responsibilities detailed in the Provost's draft and integrate them as appropriate into those already existing in the Faculty Handbook with a completion date of no later than December 2007. Barbara Werner and Peter Johansson first and seconded the motion respectively. The motion passed unanimously.

**Proposal 4:** Motion from General Education Committee to replace Mission Statement wording with the following and to replace the faculty handbook section 1.4.3 General Education Mission Statement with new wording. Sarah Egerstrom and Charlie Rader first and seconded the motion respectively. Ian Williams spoke to the issue. The motion passed by general consent.

**Proposal 5:** A motion from the General Education Committee to change Goal Three of General Education was first and seconded by Karl Peterson and Barbara Werner respectively. Ian Williams spoke to the issue. The motion passed unanimously.

**Proposal 6:** A motion from the General Education Committee to change Goal Four of General Education. David Rainville and Peter Johansson first and seconded the motion respectively. Rich Wallace spoke to the issue. The motion passed unanimously.

**Proposal 8:** A motion from the Ad Hoc Committee on a Campus/Workplace Violence policy was first and seconded by Barbara Werner and Sarah Egerstrom. Glenn Potts spoke to the issue. Karl Peterson offered as a friendly amendment extremely minor grammatical corrections. Barbara Werner offered a friendly amendment that no signature be required with the policy. Alan Tuchtenhagen objected. Barbara Werner and Laine

Vignona moved that the motion be amended to include that no signature be required with the policy. The amendment passed with 11 yes votes, 7 no votes and 2 abstentions. The main motion passed with 13 yes votes, 1 no vote, and 6 abstentions.

**Proposal 2:** A motion from Faculty Salary Committee regarding the proposed compensation package for department chairs. Chairs will be compensated in two ways.

- 1. Teaching loads during the academic year will be reassigned. The amount of the reassignment will be determined by the size of the department they are administering.
- 2. Chairs will receive a stipend, also determined by the size of the department they are administering, which compensates them as chairs during the regular academic year as well as the summer. The stipend will be temporarily added to the chair's base salary. This stipend acknowledges responsibilities for summer registration and advising.

The motion passed with 19 yes votes, 0 no votes, and 0 abstentions.

**Proposal 9:** A motion from the Faculty Salary Committee to raise salaries for the summer 2007 teaching schedule by 10%. In addition, Faculty Senate should direct the Faculty Senate Salary Committee to work with appropriate administration personnel to formulate a plan by Feb. 1, 2008 that fairly compensates faculty who teach summer and J-term classes. Karl Peterson and Larry Harred first and seconded the motion respectively. The motion passed unanimously.

### **New Business Miscellaneous:**

**Proposal 10:** A motion from the Faculty Senate that the Provost will determine whether or not reducing or increasing administrative appointments will be used to achieve 50 percent faculty representation on the UPG. Laine Vignona and Barbara Werner first and seconded the motion respectively. The motion passed with 11 yes votes, 8 no votes, and 0 abstentions.

**Proposal 11:** A motion from the Faculty Salary Committee to authorize the Executive Committee to appoint 2 additional people to the UPG contingent on the final decision of the provost regarding passed motion 102 and final senate confirmation. The motion passed with 7 yes votes, 2 no votes, and 11 abstentions. Ogden Rogers and Glenn Potts first and seconded the motion respectively.

**Adjournment:** Barbara Werner moved to adjourn at 4:59pm. The motion passed unanimously.